10yr old teacher

Standard

Serious post alert….coming your way! Just thought I would give you a little warning.

10 year old teacher

The teacher happened to be my daughter today. A little background before we come to present day. For the past 4 years now, my 10 year old has tried out for chorus. For 4 years, she would come home with her head held down to tell me she didn’t make it. At the beginning of this school year she informed me that she was going to try out again.

Now, as a parent I thought I needed to talk with her about how you are talented in some areas and not so much in others. Unfortunately, for my daughter, singing was not one of those talents she was given. I thought she should try other things instead. The reason behind me pushing her to explore other options was so she wouldn’t get hurt again. That is the last thing as a parent, I wanted to see happen.

But, when the time came, she tried out for chorus again. These last 4 weeks have taken forever to get here. So, today she gets off the bus to tell me she found out if she made it this year. SHE DID!!!!!! She was so happy that she was jumping up and down. I couldn’t believe it, she made it the 5th time she tried.

Then, I thought about how she never gave up. Even when her own mother (I feel pretty bad now) told her to pursue other options, she didn’t listen and tried again anyway. That whole saying of, Don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t do something, my daughter heard loud and clear. I am unbelievably proud of her and her willingness to keep going, even though she got knocked down 4 times.

Today it wasn’t about what my kids learned at school, it’s what I learned from them.

 

Good night everyone! See you tomorrow! And guess what……IT’S FRIDAY!!

17 responses »

  1. Children are God’s ambassordors to let us know that “All Things Are Possible,” and nothing is out of reach for those who believe and have faith. When I look back on my life and imagine what I could have done if only I had believed and had faith that I could do something.. It took me much too long to learn that lesson, but even though I learned it late. I’m still amazed at what I’ve been able to accomplish. 🙂

  2. So proud of her! I still remember a day she helped inspire my daughter to finally learn to ride a bike 🙂

  3. Yeah. Sometimes I think I should listen a bit less to my parents, and listen more to my gut instinct. Your girl is a wise one. She wouldn’t have kept going if she didn’t believe she couldn’t handle it.

  4. Yeah. Sometimes I think I should listen a bit less to my parents, and listen more to my gut instinct. Your girl is a wise one. She wouldn’t have kept going if she didn’t believe she could handle it.

Leave a Reply

