I’ll just WebMD it

Standard

When you feel ill, where do you turn to first? Nowadays, it’s the Internet!

You start having some symptoms, feeling a little under the weather, so you pull up that magical website and start trying to diagnose yourself.

Yesterday, I woke up feeling like something was wrong with my ear. It almost felt like something was in it. My worst fear, that a very pregnant spider had made its way in my ear while I was sleeping and was getting ready to give birth in its new home. (I tend to think the worst when I am self diagnosing) But, it was throbbing and I thought it was starting to close up. According to the WebMD people, it was anything from earwax blockage, a middle ear infection, swimmer’s ear, or thyroid cancer. Nice. So, which one does my mind start thinking constantly about…the worse possible scenario.

I am not so sure the above picture is completely correct. For me, it’s CLICK. CLICK. I THINK I’M DYING. I really feel worse after looking my symptoms up. Now, I know this website does some good for people. So much that you can have it as an app on your phone. This is dangerous for me. That will not be an app I choose to download. I would probably become obsessed looking up things like, what a paper cut could turn into!

I think we really have taken some of the work away for doctors. We look everything up before going to the doctor’s office, tell them what we think is wrong and maybe even tell them what medicine we think we need. Where is the mystery for them anymore?

I think the next time I go to the doctor, I’m going to walk in, sit down and say something is wrong with me, now guess what it is. Maybe that would make them have to stay in the room for more than 5 minutes. 🙂

9 responses »

  1. Hi Tara! I’m guilty, I also use the internet to diagnose myself. 😉 Whenever I feel a pain in my abdomen, headache or any minor discomfort, google is my first doctor. And you know we share the same experience, I would get paranoid over the worst consequences. I would tell myself what if I have this and that? This is perhaps the trade off of too much information readily available. We tend to rely too much on the internet than our doctors who have studied and labored for years to diagnose us.

    • Yes! Too much information can be really bad for us!! 🙂 I try not to look things up too much. But, when I am feeling like something is wrong, the computer is just staring at me, waiting for me to cave in and browse on it!!

  2. Luckily, we can’t “click, click” our own prescriptions! although I am still amazed when my doctor walks in w/ her hand-held and at the end of our visit sends anything she’s prescribed via email, on the spot! Great post!

Leave a Reply

