To get the flu shot, or not to get the flu shot…

Standard

…..that is my question.

ย This is what we know:

– There are 3 viruses put into the vaccine each year. (Guess the top winners of them all)

– There are thousands of different types of strands out there. So, those nice flu shots cover about 40% of this years viruses. Now, how many of you people are like me, and get the short end of the stick when the odds are stacked against you? ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

This is what I know:

– Last time I got one….it wasn’t pleasant and I GOT THE FLU!!

– This year if I don’t get one, I will probably have to be quarantined and bedridden all holiday season!

Decisions, Decisions.

 

Tis the season to get sick, ย fa la la la la, blah blah blah blah!! ย 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cooler weather = YAY!! ย Sickness central at the schools, grocery stores, church, the mall, gas station pumps (nastiness), and the doctor offices = BOO!!

I am keeping my fingers crossed that this years flu bug isn’t too terrible. But, I am already armed with lots and lots of hand sanitizer. I think this year I am going to buy one of those signs babies have on their strollers, and wear it as a necklace.

 

-Your Germs Are Too Big For Me. Please Don’t Touch.

(Hey, I’m fragile, too!)

 

 

 

 

So, be interactive people and let me know what your plans are this year. I want to hear what the majority says. Maybe I will feel the peer pressure and cave towards the popular crowd. ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

21 responses »

  1. Great blog!
    For most healthy adults, it’s just a great way for the drug companies to make money via the government’s “propaganda” campaign. There are folks who are high risk (lung disease, over 65 etc.) that should get it, but even in the elderly, their immune system is not strong enough to produce the amount of antibodies needed to fend off the virus.

    Two words: HAND WASHING!

    Hope you don’t mind me posting my take on the shot:
    http://sisterearthorganics.wordpress.com/2010/12/20/should-i-get-the-h1n1-flu-vaccine/

  2. I’d rather get a flu shot. It’s not 100percent effective but it helps. Some of us may get sick a bit but having an actual flu is worse. I work in an area where people cough on you, I need all the protection I can get. But we always have a choice.

  3. I think if I worked in an environment where I was surrounded by sick people, I would most likely consider getting the shot. Having the flu is definitely the pits!!!

  4. Since I work in a school (and my office is next to the school nurse’s, which means all the sick kids end up on my hall)…and now have a newborn at home, I will most likely get the shot. I want to take any precaution I can to keep from bringing sickness home. Also, I need one of those signs for Clara’s stroller!

    • Yes, yes! You need to stay as well as possible this cold season!!! I will keep an eye out for one of those signs ๐Ÿ™‚ Nobody better get their nasty, sickly hands on my beautiful Niece!!

  5. I have not decided, but leaning towards no this year. We’ve listened to the doctor the last few years and all 5 in our family have gotten the shot. We also get sick a few days after getting the shot – doc says coincidence, but I don’t know. And I have never noticed less illness the years we have gotten it. With 3 kids under 8, we’re pretty much sniffling and puking from Sept-May, at least it feels that way. We had Thanksgiving dinner over Skype last year (pink eye – not flu) . . .

  6. I get yelled at every year by the doctor because I do not get flu shots for my children or myself. We put enough into their bodies with all the vaccinations they get through out their lives that I don’t feel they should be ‘infected’ with the latest flu bugs. Since there are so many strands and even those strands are constantly mutating I just don’t think it’s necessary. Good luck in your quest, to be shot or not to be shot. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I’d rather decrease my odds by any amount than not at all. Shots? Hand sanitizer? I’ll take any advantage I can get. Hope this helps. Good luck and best wishes. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Some of my colleagues had this shot as part of our health benefits. We were asked to pay a minimal amount. We know its good for us but for some reason, most of my colleagues didn’t avail of the vaccine and that includes me.

    I am prone to colds and flu yet I decided not to avail of it. I’m just so hard headed. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I think one reason why I didn’t pursue with the vaccination is the fact that I still underestimate flu and colds. I know how to prevent it and I know that I will be cured in a few days to weeks. I hope I didn’t further confuse you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. My doctor harasses me every winter season to get a flu jab because I have asthma. I can see why though because I’m considered “high risk” and I’m likely to die from flu 40 times more than a regular person. Sucks to be me, I hate needles!

Leave a Reply

