You let your kids do what??

Standard

I am a proud parent of two beautiful girls. If you asked my friends, they would tell you that I’m a bit overprotective. My kids might not like me much when they get older, because of that. But, I don’t really mind, they just have to deal with it. I always tell my oldest ( I so sound like my mom when I say this) I am the way I am, because I care. If I just let you do whatever you want, that would show I don’t care that much.

Remember, as you read this….these are my opinions, and you may feel differently. I just choose to not let my kids do things like what’s below.

Sometimes, I want to say to other parents….You let your kids do what?

 

 

Ride their bike to school, when it’s a couple of miles away, by themselves. (Elementary School)

I will be driving my kids to school, and I see 5 yr olds, with no parents, just riding along a pretty busy road. Β I would be a nervous wreck if my girls did that!!! Don’t they know FL has one of the highest kidnapping rates?

 

 

 

Β Β Walking into gas stations, running down the street, playing on the playground with no shoes on!!! yucky!!

Umm, that is not such a good idea in my book!

 

 

 

 

Kids on Facebook. If they are under a certain age, they have to lie about how old they are to even get a page. Isn’t that teaching our kids to lie to get what they want??

My daughters are allowed to get a facebook page when they move out of my house, or their friends can just send messages through mine! Haha πŸ˜‰

 

 

 

Dropping 10 yr olds off at the mall. I have literally been walking by, when a mom pulled up and let her daughter and a friend out (same age as my daughter), and said I will see you in a couple of hours. Giving them a cell phone doesn’t mean nothing bad can happen…that little piece of electronics, gives some parents a feeling of way too much security!

 

 

 

6 yrs old and getting highlights? Haha! I don’t like having to pay to get my own done. But, starting my daughter out that early?? Only if she has a job πŸ˜‰

 

 

 

 

I understand some of you reading this, may let your kids do some of what I mentioned. I probably do some things with my kids, that others think is a bit ridiculous. You can call me out if you want, I don’t mind. So far, my girls have turned out pretty good! I must not be doing anything terribly wrong..yet. I have not hit the teenage years, so that will most likely be a different post, if I survive it! Haha!

 

This was a more serious post for me. Don’t think that’s happened yet. I will return to the funnies tomorrow! I have a good one twirling around in my head right now for fabulous Friday, which is almost upon us!! πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 responses »

  1. As long as you’re not hurting them, you have the right to set the rules however you want. Like you said, it shows how much you care.

    I agree, kids should not be on Facebook. Kids lying to get a page set up is actually kind of creepy, when you think about it.

  2. I could have written that…until last April when she turned 15. I hope it works out for you, for the last 5 months I have been feeling like I wasted my time.

  3. Hey Tara- totally agree on all aspects. We’ve talked about it a lot (at the Dojo). It takes a huge commitment & sacrafice to parent the correct way. Toast to you & all the Mom’s & Dad’s that do the right thing. : o)

  4. I agree with it all. There is ONE park I let DD run barefoot cause it has AstroTurf instead of the usual mulch and it’s only on the little kid part of the playground while I’m sitting down with my shoes off.

  5. I’m an overprotective Dad. My daughter (she’s 11) tells me I’m way too protective, and I tell her she doesn’t know the half of what she needs to be protected from. She wants to start dating at 13. I say 45. We’re still bargaining! πŸ™‚

    • We say, dating at 30. Then, they look at me and say…wait, you are 30 now. So, you were at least younger than 20 when you started dating! They are getting too smart for me now! πŸ™‚

  6. I have to agree with you on all counts. The world is just not that safe, happy, friendly place that people sometimes like to think it is. Children need rules, protection, and supervision.

  7. The ones that get me are the kids that are allowed to climb, monkey-style, on the outside of the playground equipment. I’m so afraid they’re going to break their necks. I ask where their moms are and I get the shrug, dunno. But then I know some that go pretty far the other way, that drive their middle school aged daughters to our school bus stop in the rain. I send mine out with an umbrella, they haven’t melted yet! I do stand on my porch and watch to make sure they get on the bus, 1 house away. Those other girls would have walk past 3 houses, just too far I guess.

  8. I’m real touchy about the walking around with no shoes thing. Unfortunately, I know it’s not a big deal for a lot of people, and even teachers don’t worry much about kids running around school without shoes on. I just find it so unhygenic! Plus, you could get nasties like intestinal worms and stuff from running around in bare feet. I mean, I wish people were more adamant about something as simple as keeping footwear on.

Leave a Reply

